To use CCH Accounts Production, CCH Trust Accounts must be linked to CCH Central.
What this means is that certain details relating to the client are held in CCH Central and, although they are shown in CCH Trust Accounts, they cannot be edited in CCH Trust Accounts. The way this works is as follows:
- When a new client is created in CCH Trust Accounts, the user has the option of creating it from a client that already exists in CCH Central. If the user chooses to do so, they are asked to select the CCH Central client before being taken to the normal CCH Trust Accounts Edit Client screen. On this screen the fields that come from CCH Central are disabled and cannot be edited. Other fields that are not present in Central can be entered in the usual way.
- Within Edit Client there is a button available to either Link or Unlink a client. This means that clients can be linked as required. For instance, it might be useful to create a test client in Trust Accounts that is not linked to one in CCH Central.
- On the Client List all the clients that are linked to CCH Central are indicated with an asterisk.
- If the name or address of a client is changed in CCH Central it is not immediately updated in CCH Trust Accounts. Instead it is updated the next time a user goes into edit the client or double-clicks to work on the client. This is called 'resyncing' the client.
- If a list of clients is produced, through Reports > List of Clients, all the CCH Trust Accounts clients are resynced. There is also an option available to Resync all the clients in Database Parameters > Other > Link to CCH Central.
- If a Trust Accounts client is linked to CCH Central and then deleted from CCH Trust Accounts, then it is automatically unlinked first. If the CCH Trust Accounts client has any Accounting Periods in CCH Central then they are deleted as well, but the CCH Central client is not deleted.
- If a Trust Accounts client is linked to CCH Central, it should not be deleted from Central. If it is deleted from Central, then warnings will appear in CCH Trust Accounts when CCH Trust Accounts tries to access the CCH Central client. To stop the warnings, unlink the CCH Trust Accounts client.
- No extra software is required to link CCH Trust Accounts to CCH Central. CCH Trust Accounts can be either the C-Tree version or the SQL Server version.