It is possible that you may wish to delete an audit pack and recover the space for another data set or application. CCH Audit Automation provides a routine to enable you to remove clients from the index that it maintains and the associated database record.
Deleting a client from CCH Audit Automation
To remove a client from the index, select Remove pack from system maintenance.
The system will request the code of the pack to be removed by displaying the Remove audit pack dialog:
Remove audit pack dialog
Enter the code of the pack you wish to be removed and click on [OK]. If the code you have entered does not exist, or the data held in the work area is current, the system will inform you of this fact before returning to the Main window.
If you entered a valid code, and the directory contained backup data, the system will ask you to confirm that you wish to proceed before carrying out your instructions.
The system will ask for a final confirmation that a backup has been taken of the client.
A progress report will be displayed while the files are deleted and, on completing the task, the system will return to the Main window.
After deleting the client file the Clear deleted data routine needs to be run from toolbar:
A progress report will be displayed while data are deleted and, on completing the task, the system will return this dialog:
Information! This clears all deleted data from the database. This option is only available to the System Manager.
Note! The logic behind the Clear Deleted Data option has been redesigned and should no longer cause a timeout error.
Deleting a client from CCH Central
When using the delete client option from CCH Central the documents attached to the audit periods are left as orphaned entries in the document database. When removing a client from CCH Central the audit periods should be removed first from audit as this will correctly delete the audit documents.