Skip to main content
CCH Software User Documentation

Travelling and Restoring Client Data for CCH Accounts Production

Travelling allows you to take the CCH Accounts Production, and associated CCH Central, data for clients out of the office to work upon offline.

The following will refer to your main CCH Central database as the office database and the travelled database as the offline database. 

How to 'travel' client data

  1. To travel client data, click the Clients button on the Toolbar at the top or bottom of your screen to display the Find clients window.

    clipboard_e301a598125d8ef44b5fec17684284061.png
     
  2. Find the client you want to travel and select the check box to the left of the client code

    clipboard_e7c286ee478fd6b9eea98141dda63d404.png
     
  3. From the Actions drop down on the ribbon, select Travel client.

    clipboard_ebf1baa32d9d8e821c043b1ec15e8ce8b.png
     
  4. The following dialogue will be displayed and the client data that is available to be travelled (or “taken offline”) will be listed. Select the data to be travelled and select OK.

    clipboard_e6be243f593293b5e2f5d27b254dee1b4.png
     
  5. A local copy database is created, CCH_Offline (Offline database), and a confirmation message displayed once the process is complete.
    clipboard_efa2e0779dc6546dc56c908ab197fd4d5.png

Accessing 'travelled' client data

Following the successful travel of a client, the next time you log into CCH Central, on the computer on which you travelled the dataset, you will see the travelled client marked as CCH_Offline (offline database) in the list.  You may travel any number of clients, all will be stored in the CCH_Offline database for use out of the office.

clipboard_edeb96bcc888072f240380e85e102b717.png

  • To access, select the Offline database and log in on the local computer.  
  • You can now work on the travelled client in the same way as you would if it were in the main database.

While a client is travelled offline, the client's data in the Office version of CCH Central becomes 'read only', and no changes can be made to that client.

clipboard_ec0dce8571cd2f2232885ed54e7f2e713.png

Setting-up CCH Central homepage controls for travelled data

There are two homepage controls for travelled data:

1.  Travelled Clients, and 

2.  Data to import. Lists any restored travelled data where any changes to CCH Central records have not yet to be reviewed and accepted.

To set these up, from the HOME screen ribbon choose a View, click Customise to open the Toolbox.  
From the Toolbox, choose the Central drawer, select the Data to import and Travelled Clients homepage controls to a clear area on the homepage, resize by dragging the borders as required.

clipboard_e35014a5251574cee0d9dc75a59eac464.png        clipboard_e9981e42daaeb8826e77c0f4ecd591328.png

To rename the homepage click on Edit (pencil icon) on the ribbon, click onto its current name, rename and save.  To close the Toolbox,  click the red cross in the top right corner of the Toolbox.

To view your travelled clients - Go to the Travelled Clients homepage control.

clipboard_ef3a6ec7171cf4504c250eb0551047b0f.png

To view Data to import - go to the Data to import homepage control.

clipboard_e2c81cd8017462beffd05e440db23393f.png

Travelling an offline client back into the office database

Once you have completed your work offline, to travel the client back into the office database, log in to the CCH off-line database.

Select the client from the Find Clients window and from the Actions dropdown on the ribbon select Synchronise.

Apply the change within the office database

Then you will need to apply the changes from the offline into the office database.  Go to the Central Homepage Data to import, and follow steps 1-4 below.

clipboard_e2c81cd8017462beffd05e440db23393f.png

  1. To review the changes, double click  the entry and a new tab is displayed listing any changes that have been made to the Central data while offline.
  2. To accept the changes, click Apply in the Task Bar.
  3. If you do not want the local changes reflected in the office Central database, click Cancel changes
  4. Your instruction will be processed, the tab closed and the record will be removed from the homepage control.

Undo Travel option

If a client should not have been travelled out there is the option on the Actions menu (on the Client search screen) to Undo Travel*.

*Note: Undo Travel reverts the client back to the position it was in at the time it was travelled out of the office database. This will result in the loss of any work performed on the client whilst offline.